SB Mavs Pace, Rogers, Davis highlight All-ABA teams

By Kirk Copeland
(318) 525-8853 cell

Thursday, April 30th

(Shreveport, LA.) – Three members of the 2014-15 American Basketball Association champion Shreveport-Bossier Mavericks highlight the All-ABA First Team, while the Mavs also boasted the Most Valuable Player, Sixth Man of the Year, National Coach of the Year, and Team of the Year, the website announced Thursday.

Two-time ABA MVP Josh “The Silent Assassin” Pace joined “The Twin Towers” of Jon Rogers and Brandon Davis on the first team. Point guard P.J. Couisnard was named to the second team and guard Tony Hooper highlighted the third team. ABA Championship Finals MVP Anthony Jackson was named Honorable Mention on the teams named by the staff writers of with assistance from coaches and team personnel from around the league.

Pace also grabbed the Most Valuable Player Award, giving him a sweep of the honor on postseason teams. Hooper, a Louisiana-Monroe product, was named Sixth Man of the Year, and Steve Tucker was named National Coach of the Year. Shreveport-Bossier got the distinction of Team of the Year by the committee.

Joining Pace, Rogers and Davis on the first team were diminutive guard Ray Taylor of the Miami Midnites and Defensive Player of the Year Damel Wilson of the Providence Sky Chiefs. Taylor averaged over 30 points per game in the ABA Championship Series, leading his Midnites to two victories over second-ranked Jacksonville in the tournament.

Two-time league MVP Jermaine “Slim” Bell of the Jacksonville Giants leads the second team, along with forward Boris Siakam of the Bowling Green Bandits, guard Larry Dumas of the Chicago Steam, and guard Shane DaRosa of Providence.

Hooper joins guard Corey Wilford of Bowling Green, forward Jamal Wilson of Providence, forward/center Bryan Bracey of Chicago, and guard George Gray of Miami on the third team.

Forward Elijah Smith and guard Maurice Mickens of Jacksonville, center Will Frisby of Miami, forward/center Timotheus Amerson of the Mobile Bay Tornados, guard Andre Muse of Chicago, guard Marquis Mathis of the South Florida Gold, guard Terry Hosley of the Baltimore Hawks, forward Ralph Conley of the Memphis Lions and guard/forward Will Wright of the West Michigan Lake Hawks round out the honorable mentions.

Wilford was named Newcomer of the Year by while Providence owner Giovanni Feroce was named Executive of the Year.

Pace averaged a team-high 17.7 points per game with 7.4 rebounds and 5.8 assists in winning his second league MVP award earlier this week. The 6-foot-5 swingman from Syracuse earned his nickname with a quiet demeanor combined with a deadly ability to take over games in the clutch.

Rogers led the Mavericks with an 8.6 rebounds per game average to go with 10.3 points and 2.4 blocks. The 6-foot-9 center from Valdosta State’s defensive post presence was a key all season as the Mavs won their second straight ABA title and carry a 92-game win streak into next season.

Davis joined Rogers to form “The Twin Towers”, patrolling the paint and eliminating opponents’ inside games. The soft-spoken post player from South Alabama averaged 10.3 points, 8.3 rebounds, and 1.9 blocks per game while playing his best basketball in the ABA Finals.

Cousinard, a Wichita State grad who had never played the point in his career until making the position switch in midseason, averaged 11.5 points and 5.2 assists while running an efficient Mavericks offense.

Hooper rejoined the Mavs for the Finals after a short stint playing professionally overseas and picked up right where he left off, partnering with Jackson to ignite the team’s offense off the bench. The 5-foot-11 guard averaged 10.8 points and 4.9 assists per game in winning the Sixth Man Award for

Jackson, who leads the Mavs in nicknames (A-Train, Jack, Ant, AJ, etc.), set a Mavericks team record when he erupted for 42 points in the game one win over Miami in the Championship Series. The 5-foot-11 sparkplug averaged 12.9 points, 3.3 rebounds and 7.1 assists per game, and has been named to the ABA All-Star team four times.

Tucker has won the Coach of the Year Award five times, more than any coach in ABA history, and has led his teams to four league titles – twice the number of any other coach. The 30-year coaching veteran won his unprecedented 200th league game in February, and holds a mind-boggling 155-7 record as coach of the Mavericks. The Mavericks have gone undefeated for two straight seasons, a feat that had never been accomplished before last year’s team did it.

“Congratulations to all of the players who made the USBASKET All-ABA team for this year,” said newly-elected mayor of Shreveport Ollie Tyler in an email to Tucker. “We especially applaud the Shreveport-Bossier Mavericks for retaining the national championship once again this year.”

***** Stay in touch with the Mavericks on Facebook and the worldwide web.

Shreveport-Bossier Mavericks

Facebook: Shreveport Bossier Mavericks

Shreveport-Bossier Mavericks Basketball

Powered by Horseshoe Casino & Hotel, Metro PCS, Wyndham Hotel (formerly Clarion Hotel), Hilton – Downtown, Holiday Lanes, and Shreveport Bossier Convention and Tourist Bureau



  • Tanner + West
  • City of Owensboro
  • Gordy's Music Center
  • One Health
  • Owensboro Health Healthpark
  • Fetta